Paray: PNM is the Enemy

Spread the love

LEADER of the United Patriots slate for the upcoming United National Congress National (UNC) Executive Elections, Mayaro MP Rushton Paray says his team’s political enemy was the People’s National Movement (PNM) and not his colleagues in the UNC.

The United Patriots slate has launched its slate at a packed Signature Hall in Longdenville on Saturday evening.

Paray pledged for a “healthier party” to fortify democracy in Trinidad and Tobago. He said the democracy of Trinidad and Tobago was “under attack.”

Paray, who is running for the position of deputy political leader, defended his candidacy, stating, “There is no way anyone can fault me for wanting to make the party better, no reasonable way, that anyone can say, ‘Paray you are wrong’.”

Paray’s team included Tabaquite MP Anita Haynes-Alleyne and attorneys Kiel Taklasingh and Larry Lalla. The team satted that their campaign was focused on challenging the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM), not their fellow UNC members.

Despite declining to comment on a critical letter from Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who labeled him a “mischief-maker,” Paray said, “I do not respond to harsh words.”

Paray described the launch as an “historic day” for both Trinidad and Tobago and the UNC, predicting a party victory in the next general election.

He said that the internal election was a triumph for party members’ right to expression, underlining the importance of adhering to the party’s constitution and addressing issues of governance within the UNC.

Internal elections are on June 15.

United Patriots Slate of Candidates:

Deputy Political Leader—MP Rushton Paray

Deputy Political Leader—MP Anita Haynes-Alleyne

Deputy Political Leader—MP Dr Rai Ragbir

Chairman—Larry Lalla SC

Deputy Chair—Germaine Abdulla (UNC Stalwart)

Treasurer—Curtis Manchoon

Policy & Strategy Officer—Kiel Taklalsingh (Attorney at Law)

Elections Officer—William Archie (UNC Stalwart)

Education Officer—Shanta Devi Seepersad (Youth Parliamentarian / Compass Foundation)

Research Officer—Jason Ali (Siparia West Fyzabad)

Party Organiser—Henry Awong (Former Chairman CTTRC)

International Relations Officer—Deochand Ramjit Singh

(Businessman/ Current Member of UNC Discipline Committee)

North West Regional Representative— Ricky Shanklin (Vice Chair DM Constituency Executive)

Central Regional Representative—Dr Roshan Ali (Businessman—UNC Central Coordinator)

North East Regional Representative—Jairzinho Rigsby (Former Candidate LGE 2022- UWI Lecturer/Former Banker)

South Regional Representative—Imran Wayne Mohammed (UNC Stalwart- Naparima Executive.

Tobago Regional Representative—Chinelle Roberts (Former Candidate LGE 2022 La Brea)

Support independent journalism. AZP News is an independent news organisation that is not affiliated with any big business and depends solely on advertising to pay our bills. Therefore, we are asking for the generosity of our readers to help us with small donations of any amount, but we will be happy with $20, $50 or $100. Click Here to Donate


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *