Dr Hinds Recognises ‘Wider’ Health Team after National Award

Spread the love


By Prior Beharry

THE Technical Director of the Epidemiology Division in the Ministry of Health Dr Avery Hinds says he’s both humbled and honoured to receive a National Award for the part he played in fighting the Covid-19 pandemic in Trinidad and Tobago.

In a statement to AZP News after receiving his award from President Paula-Mae Weekes on Saturday, Dr Hinds said, “I’m humbled and honoured to be part of the team whose efforts have been recognised by the National Awards Committee.


“I’m thankful to the Almighty for bringing me through this experience alive and mostly intact. We have travelled a long and arduous path from the start of the pandemic to this point, and I’m thankful to the teammates recognised today for the support we were able to provide each other along the way.”

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram received the nation’s highest award – the Order of The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (ORTT) – along with banker Professor Sterling Frost.

Dr Hinds and other doctors – Principal Medical Officer Dr Maryam Hinds, National Covid-19 Co-ordinator Dr Michelle Trotman and Professor of Molecular Genetics and Virology Christine Carrington – received the Chaconia (Gold) at the awards ceremony at the National Academy for the Performing Arts.


The epidemiologist said, “Moreover, I’d like to recognise the invaluable work of the members of wider team, working behind the scenes to deliver health care, process information, and coordinate the logistic and administrative aspects of the health response, they are the unsung heroes of the pandemic.

“Finally I’m thankful to friends and family members who directly and indirectly kept me going with their humour, love, support and interest, checking in on my wellbeing frequently during the last two-and-a-half years.”

Dr Hinds received his award in the sphere of leadership in the public health service.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *