AZP News

" All the News you need from A to Z "

" All the News you need from A to Z "

 World Cup 2022 About to Begin – The Pinnacle of Football

Qatar World Cup logo 2022

World Cup 2022 About to Begin – The Pinnacle of Football

Digiqole ad


By Gerald Lutchman

IT’S about to start! On Sunday, November 20, 2022, it begins. The greatest sporting event – THE WORLD CUP.

There are many other World cups, but in essence, the football world cup takes the pinnacle. So, prepare for the greatest sporting event of the year. I am a mad fan of the football world cup and for the purist, it is difficult to call it soccer.

There will be 32 teams competing in 64 matches for one prize. It is the 22nd edition of the competition and the first in the Arab world, thanks largely to our own Jack Warner.

There will be eight groups of four teams starting with the grand finale on December 18. This is also the first cup to be played so late in the year.

Group A 

Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and Netherlands

Group B 

England, IR Iran, USA and Wales

Group C 

Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D 

France, Australia, Denmark and Tunisia

Group E 

Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan

Group F 

Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia

Group G 

Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon

Group H 

Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and Korea Republic

The group games will be played between November 20 to December 2 and the Round of 16 between of December 3 to 6. The quarter-finals are scheduled for December 9 and 10 and the semifinals are on December 13 and 14.

The stadiums

The 64 matches of the tournament will take place across eight venues – Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, Stadium 974, Education City Stadium and Al Janoub Stadium.

This will be the sixth World Cup this century – with four European champions and only one from South America.

2018 champions: France

2014 champions: Germany

2010 champions: Spain

2006 champions: Italy

2002 champions: Brazil

It has not been a spectacular Century for the South Americans. Could this be their tournament?

There were 16 World Cups which took place in the 20th century.

1998 champions: France

1994 champions: Brazil

1990 champions: Germany FR

1986 champions: Argentina

1982 champions: Italy

1978 champions: Argentina

1974 champions: Germany FR

1970 champions: Brazil

1966 champions: England

1962 champions: Brazil

1958 champions: Brazil

1954 champions: Germany FR

1950 champions: Uruguay

1938 champions: Italy

1934 champions: Italy

1930 champions: Uruguay

In case you were wondering which country leads the title race, here is a look.

Most World Cup titles

Brazil (5)

Germany (4)

Italy (4)

Argentina (2)

France (2)

Uruguay (2)

England (1)

Spain (1)

Given that Italy is out of this edition it means only Germany can catch up with the mighty Brazil.

So, follow me Gerald Lutchman, exclusively on AZP News, for the spectacle to come over this wondrous month of football.

Digiqole ad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.