CPL Finals 2023: Curry Clasico

Spread the love

By Prior Beharry

FOUR-time Caribbean Premier League (CPL) champions the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) go into the finals against the Guyana Amazon Warriors (GAW) in the Curry Clasico at the National Stadium in Providence at 7 pm on Sunday.

Depending on the winner, their respective supporters will say it was a case of curry chicken (TKR) or chicken curry (GAW).

GAW captain Imran Tahir with his trademark celebration

In the 11 years of the CPL, TKR have never lost a championship game starting way back in 2015 as the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel. They have championship rings from 2017, 2018 and 2020 also.

In sharp contrast, GAW have made it to finals in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2018 and 2019 and were second best every time. Always the bridesmaid and never the bride is a common cliché used to describe them.

TKR Akeal Hosein gets some runs

This year GAW topped the table on 17 points with eight wins and one no result.

TKR finished second and in the three games against GAW, only won the Qualifier 1.

GAW won in the group stages at the Queen’s Park Oval on September 5 and at Providence last week Saturday.

In the past years of the CPL, both teams have 14 wins each against each other. Sunday will make the difference.

See below:

Most runs

1        Colin Munro (TKR)         599

2        Darren Bravo (TKR)        451

3        Shimron Hetmyer. (GAW)        409

Highest Scores

1        Colin Munro (TKR)        100*

2        Dinesh Ramdin (GAW)   84

3        Keacy carry (TKR) 83

Most Wickets

1        Dwayne Bravo (TKR)      25

2        Sunil Narine (TKR)         21

3        Imran Tahir (GAW)         18

Best Economy Rate

1        Anton Devcich (TKR)     4.25

2        Sunil Narine (TKR)         4.50

3        Miguel Cummins (TKR) 4.50

Highest Average

1        Chadwick Walton (TKR) 105.00 (two games)

2        Roshon Primus (GAW)   98.00

3        Keacy Carty (TKR)          83.00 (one game)

Head to Head

  Wins Loses NR Highest Score Lowest


GAW 14 14 0 185 103  
TKR 14 14 0 180 103  


Head to Head Batting First

  Wins Loses NR Highest Score Lowest


GAW 4 10 0 185 108
TKR 4 10 0 176 103


Head to Head Batting Second

  Wins Loses NR Highest Score Lowest


GAW 10 4 0 177 103
TKR 10 4 0 180 109



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *