Boodram takes Brechin Castle Open

Spread the love

EIGHTEEN-year-old Jerseem Boodram is crowned overall champion of the Brechin Castle Golf Club (BCGC) Open 2024 on Sunday.

The tournament featured 108 golfers and played from Friday to Sunday.

Boodram’s course-equalling 216 strokes held off a strong challenge from Chris Richards Jr (220) to capture victory in the Championship Flight.

Boodram said, “I had total support from my family and friends, and it feels fantastic to win. The course was top notch and kudos to the BCGC Committee for hosting this excellent and  challenging competition. My goal is to get a scholarship, play college golf and eventually turn pro – this victory has taken me one step closer to achieving that vision.” 

A release from CJ Communications stated that this was the first golf championship for the year and featured several innovations including the inclusion of a professional flight and having the Ladies Flight play all three days, which was a national first.

Hat-trick: Winner of BCGC Open Ladies’ Flight victories, Ye Ji Lee, right, collects her trophy from BCGC Secretary Gail Rajack.

Pro winner, Ben Martin shot 216 to edge out Chris Richards Snr (224) and Talin Rajendranath (238).

Martin said, “Its great to see golf courses across the country making a push to promote the sport and healthy competition.

He said, ” It was encouraging to see so many young people like Jerseem participating, and this is a great opportunity for them to lift themselves and the sport.”

Making it a hat-trick of victories in the ladies’ division was national senior player Ye Ji Lee (239), edging out Victoria Seenath (248) and Elise La Borde (260).

Lee took a break from her studies at Ewha University in Seoul, South Korea, to participate in the tournament.

Winning the First, Second and Third Flights were Kumar Ramcharan (239), Ken Pollard (160) and Phagu Khelawan (75) respectively.

In the Super Seniors category, it was a dominant two-day performance from Angad Sonnilal (150) that saw him win by 16 strokes. Apart from other prizes, the winners of these four divisions gained entry into the T&T Open, which is being hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Golf Association (TTGA) at the Magdelena Grand Golf Resort in Tobago from March 14 to 17.

Ben Martin, BCGC Open 2024 Professional Flight winner, collects his prize from Johanson Singh of Scaffolding Manufacturers (Trinidad) Limited.

TTGA President Wayne Baptiste, who also competed, said “This is one of the top tournaments and I am proud of the work being done by the various golf clubs to elevate the sport. It was especially encouraging that BCGC incorporated a two-day training camp for young people to come and learn the game – they are the future.

Second Flight winner, Ken Pollard, left, collects his prize from BCGC captain, Ramsingh Boodoosingh.

President of the Brechin Castle Golf Club, Steve Jagroopsingh, “This tournament was defined by excellence from all the competitors, a top-quality course and perfect weather.”


Professional Flight

1st Place: Ben Martin (216)

2nd Place: Chris Richards Snr. (224)

3rd Place: Talin Rajendranath (238)

Championship Flight

1st Place: Jerseem Boodram (216)

2nd Place: Chris Richards Jnr (220)

3rd Place: Ayden Ali (223)

First Flight

1st Place: Kumar Ramcharan (239)

2nd Place: Christian Khan (239)

3rd Place: Fabien Lee Foon (240)

Second Flight

1st Place: Ken Pollard (160)

2nd Place: Pooran Singh (169)

3rd Place: Dwayne Ramlal (170)

Third Flight (Stableford)

1st Place: Phagu Khelawan (75)

2nd Place: Daron Dhanraj (72)

3rd Place: Winston Jailal (71)

Ladies’ Flight

1st Place: Ye Ji Lee (239)

2nd Place: Victoria Seenath (248)

3rd Place: Elise La Borde (260)

Super Seniors

1st Place: Angad Sonnilal (150)

2nd Place: Kissoon Gannes (166)

3rd Place: Reynold Deonath (169)

AZP News is an independent news organisation that is not affiliated with any big business and depends solely on advertising to pay our bills. Therefore, we are asking for the generosity of our readers to help us with small donations of any amount, but we will be happy with US$1, US$5 or US$10. Click Here to Donate


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *