AZP News

New Cabinet to be Sworn-in on Wednesday

  • 3
Digiqole ad


ONE week after the general election took place, President Paula-Mae Weekes received the final results of the election from the chairman of the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC).


The EBC spent the majority of last week recounting votes for five constituencies with the final results confirming  the People’s National Movement (PNM) victory at the polls.
Click on ad to visit CXC Masters Facebook page

The Office of the President issued a statement to the media on Tuesday stating that letters were then immediately sent to PNM’s political leader Dr Keith Rowley and political leader of the  United National Congress (UNC) Kamla Persad-Bissessar, enquiring of their willingness to be appointed Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition, respectively.


The swearing-in ceremony is expected to take place on Wednesday at the President’s House at 4 pm under Covid-19 protocols with the number of invitees being reduced after consultation with Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram.
Click on Ad to visit Facebook page


Apart from those to be sworn-in, invited to attend the ceremony are the Chief Justice and his spouse, the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, the Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly, the Dean of the Diplomatic Corps, the President of the Inter Religious Organisation, who will lead the prayer, and Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar MP, the release stated. 


Dr Rowley said he received the correspondent from the President and said his full cabinet will be sworn in on Wednesday.


Digiqole ad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *