AZP News

Darren Bravo Recalled to Windies ODI Squad

  • 1
Digiqole ad
West Indies Squad for Sri Lanka. Courtesy Cricket West Indies

ST JOHN’S, ANTIGUA – THIRTY-year-old Darren Bravo has been recalled to the West Indies One-Day International (ODI) squad.

In a release on Monday, Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced the 15-member team to tour Sri Lank from February 17 to March 6.

Along with Bravo, allrounder Rovman Powell and spinner Fabien Allen, who has recovered from the leg injury he sustained in India late last year, have been included, according to a release from CWI.

Missing out are Trinidad and Tobago opening batsman Evin Lewis and Guyana’s Shimron Hetmyer after failing to attain the new minimum standard fitness requirement in recent assessments, CWI stated.

About the squad, CWI’s lead selector Roger Harper said, “I look forward to the team building on its recent performances against Afghanistan and India in the subcontinent and against Ireland at home – playing consistent, smart cricket to win the series. Sri Lanka are a very good team in their own conditions. I do not expect it to be easy but our team has shown that it is very capable. These are the series we will have to win in order to move up the rankings.

“Darren Bravo and Rovman Powell owe their recall to their outstanding performance in the recently Colonial Medical Super50 tournament. Bravo brings good form, a renewed appetite for runs and lots of experience which will benefit the team tremendously. Powell who is back from injury, will add batting firepower to the lineup, increase the team’s bowling options and strengthen the fielding unit.

“Evin Lewis and Shimron Hetmyer missed out due to the fact that they came up short in the fitness test. They will be missed, Lewis was the team’s best batsman in the recent Colonial Medical Insurance ODI Series against Ireland where he batted with great composure and proved the bedrock for the team’s Series win. Hetmyer appeared to be getting his act together and was an integral part of the team’s batting group.”

Windies squad

Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice captain), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd and Hayden Walsh Jr.


February 17 – warm-up at P Sara Oval

February 20 – warm-up vs SLC President’s XI – CMCG, Katunayake

February 22 – 1st ODI at Sinhalese Sports Club, Colombo

February 26 – 2nd ODI at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota

March 1 – 3rd ODI at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

March 4 – 1st T20I at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

Match 6 – 2nd T20I at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

Digiqole ad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *