See All PNM LGE Candidates

Spread the love

By Sue-Ann Wayow

MARCUS Girdharie and Kimberly Small were chosen by the People’s National Movement (PNM) to lead the prospective PNM candidates in taking the candidates’ oaths on Sunday at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA).

Girdharie is a former United National Congress (UNC) councillor.

He along with Samuel “Fish” Garcia shifted political sides by joining the PNM to contest the local government election on August 14.

Girdharie will be contesting his former seat Marabella South/Vistabella.

Garcia will also be contesting the seat he won in a bye-election under a UNC banner in Arima Central.

The oath stated, “We, the confirmed People’s National Movement (PNM) candidates hereby pledge to give dedicated service to all the people of our electoral district without any fear or discrimination. We further pledge to commit ourselves to contribute diligently to the improvement of the quality of life of all the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. We do so humbly acknowledging the source of our wisdom and strength. May God bless our nation.”

It was taken by the 141 candidates chosen by the PNM to contest the election at the party’s presentation of candidates.

During the event, PNM executive members Faris Al-Rawi and Laurel Lezama-Lee Sing provided additional background commentary.

Following the taking the oath, Al-Rawi told Lezama-Lee Sing, “Marcus Girdharie and Kimberly Small represent what Trinidad and Tobago is. They represent what the PNM stands for.”

Lezama-Lee Sing agreed, “Absolutely, any person interested in the development of Trinidad.”

Some of the PNM candidates on stage at NAPA on Sunday. Photo: Facebook/PNM

Al-Rawi continued, “Our doors are wide open where every creed and race finds that place  where ideology is supreme in its making and why we say to the people, come home to the love and comfort of the PNM.”

Following is the complete listing of the PNM candidates:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *