India Take T20 Series, Debutant Chahar Bags 3 for 4

Spread the love


GUYANA – INDIA have won the final T20 and swept the series three to nil despite a better batting display by the West Indies batsmen in Providence.

Virat Kohli won the toss and put West Indies in to bat and it was a decision he did not regret as debutant Deepak Chahar reduced the home side to 14 for three inside four overs.

Chahar got the ball to swing both ways and ended with figures of three wickets for four runs off three overs. He accounted for the wickets of Sunil Narine (2), Evin Lewis (10) and Shimron Hetmyer by the penultimate ball of the fourth over.

Kieron Pollard was again the pick of the West Indies batsmen with 58 off 48 balls that included six sixes and one four. Wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran chipped in with 17 while Rovman Powell was not out on 32.

West Indies managed 146 for 6 in their 20 overs.

India lost only three wickets on their way to 150 with five balls to spare.

Kohli (59) and Rishabh Pant (65) both scored half centuries with the latter hitting four fours and four sixes.

Chahar was named man-of-the-match.

The teams now move on to the three-match one-day-internationals that start in Providence on Thursday with the last two in Port-of-Spain at the Queen’s Park Oval on Sunday and next week Wednesday.

India 150 for 3 (Pant 65*, Kohli 59, Thomas 2-29) beat West Indies 146 for 6 (Pollard 58, Powell 32*, Deepak Chahar 3-4, Saini 2-34) by seven wickets


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *