Gov’t Replaces Espinet

Spread the love

PORT-OF-SPAIN – THE Trinidad and Tobago Government had removed Wilfred Espinet as the chairman of Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Ltd (TPHL), Heritage Petroleum and Petrotrin.

The announcement was made on Thursday at the post-cabinet news conference at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s by Finance Minister Colm Imbert and Energy Minister Franklin Khan.

Attorney Michael Quamina, who has been Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s attorney, replaces Espinet as chairman of TPHL, Heritage and Petrotrin.

Imbert praised Espinet for transforming the former Petrotrin into entities which can be profitable, claiming that few people could have done the job.

Housing Development Corporation (HDC) chairman Newman George, the husband of House Speaker Bridgid Annissette-George, will take over chairmanship of Paria and Guaracara.

Imbert said George was in his final term as HDC chairman and will make a seamless transition to his new roles at end of the year.

He said Government felt it was important that people with expertise in these matters take charge at these companies as they move into operational phases.

The Finance Minister said a permanent replacement will be found for current Heritage CEO Mike Wiley, who is being treated for cancer in the US.

Imbert said Government did not think it wise for its affairs to be run by an interim committee while Wiley recovers.

The compositions of the new boards are:

Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited – Michael Quam­i­na (chair­man), Reynold Ad­jod­has­ingh (deputy chairman), New­man George, An­tho­ny Chan Tack, Joel Hard­ing, Sel­wyn Lash­ley, Eu­stace Nan­cis.

Heritage Petroleum Company Limited – Michael Quam­i­na (chair­man), New­man George (deputy chairman) Reynold Ad­jod­has­ingh, Sel­wyn Lash­ley, Joel Hard­ing, Ryan To­by, George Leonard Lewis, Pe­ter Clarke, Reeza Saleem.

Paria Fuel Trading Company Limited – New­man George (chair­man), Eu­stance Nan­cis, Chris­tine Sa­hadeo, Pe­ter Clarke, Reeza Saleem.

Guaracara Refining Company Limited – New­man George (chair­man), An­tho­ny Chan Tack, Pe­ter Clarke, Chris­tine Sa­hadeo.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *