De Freitas is New Senate President, Sookhai Replaces Kangaloo

Spread the love


By Prior Beharry

FORMER Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture Nigel De Freitas is the new President of the Senate of Trinidad and Tobago.

He was sworn in on Wednesday after former Senate president Christine Kangaloo resigned. She has been nominated as the country’s seventh President by the Government. The Electoral College meets on Friday to vote for a new president with the Opposition nominating senior counsel Israel Khan.

New Government Senator Richie Sookhai. Photo: T&T Parliament

Kangaloo was replaced by Chaguanas businessman Richie Sookhai.

De Freitas’ first order of business was to preside over the swearing-in of Sookhai who is the President of the Chaguanas Chamber of Commerce. He has signalled his intention to resign from this post.

De Freitas also presided over three questions which were answered by Government ministers.

In asking his first question, Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate told De Freitas, “While I am in this Chamber no one will be allowed to rob you of your robe.”

Leader of Government Business Dr Amery Browne also congratulated De Freitas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *