DCPs Benjamin, George get Appointments

Spread the love

Caption: From left, Chairman of the Police Service Commission Justice Judith Jones (Retired), Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Junior Benjamin, DCP Natasha George and Police Commissioner Erla Harewood-Christopher

By Prior Beharry

THE Police Service Commission (PolSC) has confirmed the promotion of acting Assistant Commissioner of Police Junior Benjamin and acting Senior Superintendent Natasha George to the positions of Deputy Commissioner of Police within the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS).

The promotions were officially ratified with effect from the dates of their assumption of duty, the PolSC held a ceremony on Wednesday to formally present Benjamin and George with their letters of promotion, a release stated on Thursday.


On February 16 in Parliament, the government had also approved the notification from President Christine Kangaloo for the nomination from the PolSC for Curt Simon to act as Deputy Commissioner of Police – a position he previously held.

The PolSC also nominated Wendell Lucas, head of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) White Collar Unit, but this was rejected by the government whilst the Opposition abstained in the vote for this candidate.

The nominations of Benjamin and George were approved.



Support independent journalism. AZP News is an independent news organisation that is not affiliated with any big business and depends solely on advertising to pay our bills. Therefore, we are asking for the generosity of our readers to help us with small donations of any amount, but we will be happy with US$1, US$5 or US$10. Click Here to Donate


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *