Red Force: CG United 2023 Champs

Spread the love
Leeward Islands Hurricanes 135 off 41.5 overs (Jahmar Hamilton 62, Terrance Hinds 3-16, Sunil Narine 3-17) Trinidad & Tobago Red Force 141-3 off 23.4 overs (Darren Bravo 40, Nicholas Pooran 39*, Joshua Da Silva 28, Hayden Walsh Jr 2-19)


By Prior Beharry

MYSTERY spinner Sunil Narine ends his List A career with the CG United Super50 2023 title for the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force.

The 35-year-old announced his retirement from international cricket last week and his three wickets for 17 runs in the final at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy on Saturday helped the Red Force beat the Leeward Islands Hurricanes by seven-wickets.

The Hurricanes were bowled out for 135 in 41.5 overs. Wicketkeeper Jahmar Hamilton brought some stability to the innings with 62 from 102 balls.

But, it was easy going for the Red Force when they went in to bat with skipper Darren Bravo (40), Nicholas Pooran (39*) and Joshua Da Silva (28) ensuring a victory by seven wickets in the 24th over.

Kofi James is bowled by Khary Pierre

The Red Force lifted the Sir Clive Lloyd Trophy and walked away with a total prize money of US$150,000 with a US$50,000 bonus for topping the group stage and the first prize of US$100,000.

Narine was the joint leading wicket-taker with 20 scalps and also walked away with the Gus Logie award for the tournament’s best fielder with nine catches.

Bravo was the highest run-scorer with 416 runs at an average of 83 in the tournament.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *