Central Zone Produces 15 National Cricketers

Spread the love

Caption: Chairman of the Central Zone Kellman Kowlessar, second right, presents the second-place trophy for the Evolution 40-Over Competition to Ubaidullah Abdoel of Balmain United while Kimberly Hercules of Evolution Fitness, and Sunil Moonasar of Island Roofing looks on

By Prior Beharry

DESPITE being described as a difficult season,  the Central Zone of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) had a very successful 2024.

This according to Chairman of the Central Zone Kellman Kowlessar at Central Zone’s annual awards ceremony on Friday at Signature Hall in Chaguanas.


He said, “In a very difficult year with many constraints including time, finance and human resources, the Central Zone had an extremely successful 2024 season with all competitions completed on time and with little interruptions. 

“Our youth development programme proved a success once more, with the Central Zone leading the way in producing an extraordinarily high number of youth cricketers, selected on the national youth teams at the under 13, 15, 17 and under 19 levels. 

Micah Joseph of Exchange Estate Sports Club receives the championship trophy from Kevin Kowlessar of Ramsingh’s Sports World

“We congratulate them on their hard work and wish them continued success and commit as a zone, to continue playing our part in youth develop in Trinidad and Tobago.” 


In attendance were were more than 150 guests in attendance represented various stakeholders in central cricket including clubs, youth cricketers, parents, umpires, coaches, administrators, primary and secondary schools’ representatives. 

Kimberly Hercules of Evolution Fitness, left, presents the championship trophy to a member of Couva Sports Club

A release from the Central Zone noted an increased number of sponsors and thanked the Sport and Culture Fund under the Office of the Prime Minister, for continuing to assist the zone in its efforts to develop cricket in the central region. The zone recognised Ramsingh’s Sports World for sponsoring its T20 Competition and Evolution Fitness Limited, Island Roofing Ltd and KDR Medical, for sponsoring its 40 Over Competition, the release stated. 

Chairman of the Central Zone Kellman Kowlessar, left, recognises Sunil Moonasar of Island Roofing for sponsorship of the Central Zone

Also speaking at the ceremony was Central Zone Secretary Vyash Nandlal who said, “Sponsorship for sport is a very difficult but necessary resource to acquire. Our sponsors have shown a commitment to the Central Zone brand and confidence in our operations, governance and results. We cannot underestimate or fail to appreciate the immense role our sponsors have played in developing youth and club cricket in the Central Zone. To our sponsors, we thank you all.” 

“The Central Zone boasted of being one of the largest and most successful in the country with 24 clubs participating across three divisions for league competitions as well as successfully hosting T20 and 40 Over competitions. 

“The zone also competed successfully in the national interzone competitions reaching the finals at the under 13 and under 15 competitions, winning the under 17 competition and reaching the semifinals at the under 19 level. 

“More importantly, the zone produced 15 national players across the various youth age groups, demonstrating the strength of its youth development programme. In its various competitions, over 150 youth and senior players collected prizes for individual achievements, highlighting the increasing standard of cricket played across the zone.”


Winners included, in league matches, Exchange Estate Sports Club, winning the Senior Division, while also gaining promotion to Premier 2 in the National League. 

Sital Felicity Youngstars were champions of the First Division and Felicity Sports Club were winners of the Second Division league competitions.

Couva Sports Club won the final to be crowned third time consecutive winners of the Evolution Fitness 40 Overs Competition while Exchange Estate Sports Club were also third time consecutive winners of the Pro Sport T20 Competition. 

Central Zone Winners 2024

Central Zone Individual Awardees

LEAGUE (2 Days)
Senior Division 

Most Wickets 
Christopher Vincent 66 Wickets – Exchange Estate Sports Club 
Most Runs 
Saleem Hosein 487 Runs – Exchange Estate Sports Club 
First Division
Most Wickets 
Randy Ramanan 42 Wickets – Koreans Sports Club
Most Runs
Keeshan Sookdeo 595 Runs – Madras Sports Club
Second Division
Most Wickets 
Arshad Mohammed 67 Wickets – Felicity Sports Club
Most Runs 
Aaron Ali 584 Runs – Caparo Warriors Sports Club

Pro Sport T20 Competition
Most Wickets
Saleem Hosein 11Wickets – Exchange Estate Sports Club 
Most Runs
Saleem Hosein 207 Runs – Exchange Estate Sports Club
Evolution Fitness 40 Overs Competition
Most Wickets 
Pernell London 14 Wickets – Couva Sports Club
Most Runs 
Naveed Ali 291 Runs – Koreas Sports Club


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *