AZP News

Anil Roberts Back in Parliament as UNC Senator

  • 3
Digiqole ad


By Sue-Ann Wayow

OPPOSITION Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has named the six Opposition Senators for the 12th Parliament which begins on Friday.

They are Wade Mark, Jearlean John, Jayanti Lutchmedial, Damian Lyder, Anil Robert and David Nakhid.

In a media release on Thursday, the Opposition leader stated, “The Opposition in the Senate will be strong, formidable and most importantly they will hold the Government to account at every juncture. The Opposition bench in the Senate will continue to defend the Constitution and the rights of all citizens against any attempts to thwart their fundamental freedoms. With the appointment of patriots of such a high caliber to the Opposition Bench, I remain satisfied that the rights of the people will be assiduously defended.”

Persad-Bissessar added, “The UNC remains committed to providing opportunities for young people to lead, as we prepare them for the future.”

Wade Mark

Wade Mark has been a former Speaker of the House under the UNC administration having first entered Parliament as an Opposition Senator in 1990. He is also a former Government minister and has served as Joint President of the Trinidad and Tobago Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) and also served as Regional Chairman (Caribbean, American and Atlantic Region) of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA).From 2002 to 2010, Mark also served as Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate.

Mark who has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics and Politics from the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine and an Executive Master’s Degree in Business Administration (EMBA is also a member of the Economics Association of Trinidad and Tobago, Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA), and the Global Organization for Parliamentarians against Corruption (GOPAC).



Jearlean John

Jearlean John  has served on several State boards. Some of her portfolios included Managing Director of the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) and  chairman of Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago ( UDECOTT).

She  is a chartered accountant, certified professional accountant, and certified management, accountant. She holds an MBA from the Edinburgh Graduate School of Business and a Chief Executive Training Certificate from the National University of Singapore.

She presently serves as  deputy political leader of the UNC.


Anil Roberts

Anil Roberts is a former Government Minister and  Member of Parliament.

He is also a swimming  coach and the host of television sports show, Spalk.


David Nakhid

David Nakhid has been active in international football from the early 1980’s till the present where he runs the David Nakhid International Academy. A former FIFA presidential candidate, Nakhid the first player from Trinidad and Tobago to play in Europe and has  played professionally in Switzerland, Belgium, and Greece. Previously he served as the Chief Scout and Assistant Coach for the Trinidad and Tobago National World Cup Team. He attended the American University where he obtained a BA in International Relations.

Jayanti Lutchmedial


Jayanti Lutchmedial is an attorney-at-law and a former national scholarship winner.  She was admitted to the bar in 2006.


Damien Lyder

Damien Lyder is a graduate of the University of Ontario with a first degree in Business Administration and Commerce. He has been involved in community affairs and politics and has experience in leading and growing all sectors of a business.

Digiqole ad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *